Lonesome Dove (1989)

Lonesome Dove is a Western television miniseries based on Larry McMurtry's Pulitzer Prize-winning novel of the same name. Starring Robert Duvall and Tommy Lee Jones, Lonesome Dove was originally broadcast by CBS on February 5, 1989, drawing a huge viewing audience, earning numerous awards, and reviving both the television western and the miniseries. An estimated 26,000,000 homes tuned in to watch Lonesome Dove, unusually high numbers for a Western at that time. The western genre was considered dead by most people, as was the miniseries. By the show's end, it had earned huge ratings and virtually revamped the entire 1989–1990 television season. A favorite with audiences, as well as critics, Lonesome Dove garnered many honors and awards. At the 1989 Emmy Awards, the miniseries had 18 nominations and seven wins, including one for director Simon Wincer. Another miniseries of significantly lower TV ratings and less critical acclaim, War and Remembrance, won the Emmy for Outstanding Miniseries. Yet, Lonesome Dove found success later, when it won two Golden Globes, for Best Miniseries and Best Actor in a Miniseries. The film was deemed Program of the Year by the National Television Critics Association, as well as Outstanding Dramatic Achievement. It received the D.W. Griffith Award for Best Television Miniseries, and CBS was presented with a Peabody Award for Outstanding Achievement in Drama. In a 2003 TRIO Network Special, TRIO ranked Lonesome Dove third in a list of ten outstanding miniseries, beginning from the time the format was created.

  • Emil Martonffi
  • William D. Wittliff
  • Larry McMurtry
Seasons: 1
themoviedb icon 7.8/10
  • Release Date: 1989-02-05
  • Views: 206
  • Country: US
  • Language: En
  • Runtime: 384
Watchlist Favorite

D. B. Sweeney

Dish Boggett

Tommy Lee Jones

Woodrow F. Call

Diane Lane

Lorena Wood Parker

Robert Urich

Jake Spoon

Danny Glover

Joshua Deets

Robert Duvall

Augustus "Gus" McCrae

Ricky Schroder

Newt Dobbs

Glenne Headly

Elmira Boot Johnson

Anjelica Huston

Clara Forsythe Allen

Barry Corbin

Roscoe Brown

Chris Cooper

July Johnson

William Sanderson

Lippy Jones

Timothy Scott

Pea Eye Parker

Gerő Mály

Ilyen inas nincs

Kálmán Latabár

Egy kitalált föúr / gróf Rod-Igor Szu-Arew, Luxonia grófja

Gábor Rajnay

Egy kedélyes nagybácsi

Tibor Halmay

Egy kiagyalt elmeorvos
Write one

Sorry, no results found.